Tacos de Pescado (Fish Tacos)

Who just loves those yummy beer-battered fish tacos with the mayo-crema sauce? I do! I look forward to every year when my family makes them for good Friday during lent. They’re so crispy, saucy, juicy…yum. It’s literally making my mouth water. The sad thing is this dish although, so delicious and refreshing it is packed with many calories. So today, I have recreated the Baja style fish taco into something that will be just as delicious, mouth-watering, and best of all: HEALTHY!

Let’s start with the sauce

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cup of greek yogurt (you can also use regular, low-fat plain yogurt)

1/2 lemon (squeezed lemon juice)

1 small minced garlic clove

1/4 cup chopped cilantro

1/4 teaspoon black pepper

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 tablespoon olive oil

1/2 of a cucumber

20150714_170633-1

This is a greek yogurt sauce called tzatziki, but I wanted to make it into a Hispanic tzatziki so instead of adding the usual dill, I added cilantro. Dill is difficult to find specifically in my area and is also very expensive. If you want to try it, go for it, but I think it’s delicious both ways. If you don’t like the tartness of the greek yogurt you can use plain low fat yogurt. Also, careful with the amount of garlic added. If you add too much it will be overpowering.

Once you have chopped all your ingredients, mix them all together and it’s done. I usually start with the sauce and let it chill in the refrigerator while I prepare the rest of the food.

Next, Pico de Gallo salsa

Ingredients:

1/4 cup of cilantro

1 roma tomato

1/4 of an onion

For some spice add 1 tablespoon of jalapeno

Chop it all up and mix it together.

20150714_173548-1

If I hadn’t made the tzatziki I would have added 1/4 teaspoon of salt and pepper and half a lemon juice. But the tzatziki alone is a magical sauce. Try it first and then you can decide.

Next is the fish:

Ingredients:

Paprika

Parsley flakes

Pepper

Garlic salt

Tilapia filets

Avocado

Cabbage

Whole grain corn tortillas

Grab a non-stick pan, sprinkle some olive oil and heat up the pan for about 5 minutes on a medium flame

throw the filets on there and sprinkle all the spices evenly on the fish (about a pinch or two pinches of each spice).

20150714_173458

While I waited for the filets to cook, I warmed up the pan for the tortillas and chopped avocado and cabbage for toppings.

20150714_173837-1

Assemble your taco, and enjoy!

20150714_175135-1 20150714_175144

Leave a Reply

